DUI Penalties in California
How an Newport Beach DUI Attorney Can Help
Have you been arrested for DUI in Southern California? A DUI conviction can leave a devastating impact on your reputation, your career, and your future. In the state of California, charges of driving under the influence (DUI) can carry heavy penalties and criminal punishments. With so much at stake and the possibility of losing your license, it is vital that you have an Orange County DUI attorney to ffight for your rights and driving privileges.
With an assertive legal advocate from the Law Office of Frances Prizzia, your chances of success will be far greater. Attorney Frances Prizzia is a previous public defender and she knows the criminal justice system like the back of her hand. For aggressive advocacy in your time of need, speak with an attorney from our firm and request a free consultation to discuss the possible defenses in your case.
Possible DUI Penalties in California
The criminal sentence that you are facing may all depend on whether or not this is your first offense or if it is a subsequent offense. If you have a prior DUI conviction within 10 years, then it would count as a subsequent offense and you may receive harsher penalties. Your blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time that you were pulled over will also make a difference. If you have been arrested for DUI in California, these are the minimum penalties that you could be facing:
This crime is punishable for up to 3 to 5 years of court probation, a fine anywhere from $1400-$1800, a 6 month license suspension, mandatory driving school and mandatory jail time of 48 hours.
For a subsequent offense, you could be facing 3 to 5 years of probation, a find anywhere from $1800-$2800, a license suspension of 2 years, attend an 18 month DUI Alcohol program, mandatory jail time of 96 hours, and you will have to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
For a third DUI conviction, you are looking at 3-5 years of formal probation, a fine anywhere from $1800-$2800, a license suspension of 3-10 years, an 18 month alcohol program and a mandatory jail time of 120 days.
A fourth DUI conviction will be considered a felony DUI, which could land you in prison for up to 3 years and could cause you to lose your license permanently.
If you had any aggravating factors in your case, then the penalties that you are facing could grow significantly. These aggravating factors may include:
- Having a child in the car (under the age of 14)
- Getting into an accident
- Driving on a suspended license
- Having a high BAC content of more than .20
Fighting DUI Charges in Irvine
Searching for an attorney for a drunk driving case in Orange County? Here at the Law Office of Frances Prizzia, we offer compassionate, aggressive and dedicated criminal defense to clients all throughout Southern California, including Newport Beach,
Santa Ana. If you have been arrested for DUI, we can aggressively defend your rights in criminal court and build a compelling defense case on your behalf. Our talented criminal lawyer, Frances Prizzia, has extensive experience with criminal law and she has successfully defended countless DUI cases.
Whether this is your first encounter with the law, or this is a subsequent offense in your case, you need an aggressive litigator to represent you and to point out the flaws and weaknesses in the prosecutor's case. We can investigate the events leading up to your arrest, contest the breath test/blood test results, ask key witnesses and gather supporting evidence for your case.