Rape Defense Lawyer in Orange County
Newport Beach Sex Crimes Attorney
Have you been accused of rape in Newport Beach? Rape and other sex crimes are serious allegations that should not be taken lightly. In California penal code section 261, the crime of rape is defined as having sex penetration with a partner who is unable to consent. Nonconsensual intercourse may mean that the other person is unconscious, unable to speak, drugged, sleeping, or in any other state where they are unable to verbally give their consent. In order for it to be considered rape, the victim does not have to physically try to stop the act or resist in any way.
Rape allegations can leave you feeling terrified and condemned, not to mention it could have a devastating impact on your reputation and your career. That is why you must fight to avoid a rape conviction at all costs. Speak with a Newport Beach criminal defense lawyer from our firm today for the aggressive legal representation you need to beat your charges!
Other Types of Rape
Even though "date rape" is not an actual legal term, it refers to the sexual activities between two people who are hanging out or out on a date. The two individuals could be just friends, total strangers, mere acquaintances, or significant others. In date rape cases, the use of drugs or alcohol is typically involved leaving the victim's memory of the act very blurry, warped or vague.
In California, statutory rape is the act of one adult individual having unlawful sexual intercourse with a person who is under 18 years old. Having sex with a minor is a serious offense and the penalties become increasingly severe depending on how big the age gap is between the victim and the offender. If the two individual are less than three years apart, then it is a misdemeanor crime, but anything over three years could be considered a felony.
Penalties for Rape in California
Looking for an attorney for a rape case in Newport Beach? When it comes to accusations of rape, the law is very unforgiving. They say that you are innocent until proven guilty, but many people have been sent to jail or prison on testimony alone. That is why you cannot simply trust that the justice system will protect you if you are innocent. Whether you are innocent or guilty, you need an assertive legal advocate on your side that can protect you against the prosecution. According the California penal law, the possible penalties for a rape conviction include:
- Anywhere from one year in jail up to 2-4 years in state prison
- Pay a fine somewhere between $2,000 and $25,000 (closer to $25,000 for statutory rape)
If the rape victim is much younger, then the penalties are much harsher including:
- 3, 6, or 8 years in a state prison
- A strike against you in reference to the California three-strike law
- A lifetime sex offender registration
Penalties such as these can follow you wherever you go and make your life extremely difficult as you try to put the whole behind you. With a sex crime conviction on your record and a sex offender registration, it could make it very difficult for you to find housing and gainful employment.
Searching for an attorney for rape in Orange County?
When facing criminal charges, particularly sex offenses, you need a lawyer who has extensive courtroom experience and sharp litigation skills. Newport Beach criminal lawyer Frances Prizzia has a track record of success and a slew of case victories for past clients. Our firm has represented countless clients in tight situations and we are willing to go the extra mile for our clients.
Contact our firm today to schedule a free consultation by calling (888) 392-8114.